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Post Vehicle Purchase To-Do List:

ON ARIZONA SIDE

Get Auto Insurance
The first thing you should do is let your 
insurance agent know of your new 
purchase. You need to insure the car as 
soon as possible. If you trade in a vehicle 
let your agent know so the vehicle can 
be taken off your policy.
Register the Vehicle
With the proof of insurance, you 
can register your vehicle, including 
purchasing or transferring existing license 
plates. You cannot merely remove 
license plates from another vehicle in 
your possession and put them on your 
new vehicle. DO NOT leave the proof-
of-registration in your vehicle, along with 
your license. Carry it with you. In the 
event your vehicle is stolen and stopped 
by a police officer, the car thief can 
present your registration and claim that 
you loaned them the vehicle.
Store the Title
You will be issued a copy of the title 
when the vehicle is paid off, you will 
receive the original. As with the car 
registration, DO NOT leave it in the 
vehicle. Store it in a safe and secure 
place such as a safe or security box.
Review the Owners Guide
Read the Owner Manual and learn 
about vehicle features. Make sure you 
understand the safety features. Some 
of it may seem basic. That’s OK. It could 
possibly save your life.
Read your Warranty
Start Good Maintenance Habits

Be Alert AND Be Quick
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New Car
The Arizona Lemon Law has a number 
of specific conditions. You should read 
the law, file a complaint with the Better 
Business Bureau AUTO LINE Program or 
consult an attorney if your new car is a 
lemon. 

Here are the basics.
The period covered by the Lemon Law is 
the term of the manufacturer’s warranty 
or two years or 24,000 miles, whichever 
occurs earlier. This covered period begins 
on the date of delivery of the vehicle to 
the consumer.

If there is a problem with the car that 
substantially impairs the use and value 
of the car and does not conform to the 
express warranty of the manufacturer or 
dealer, the consumer should report it to 
the manufacturer or dealer.

The report must be made during the 
covered period.

The manufacturer or its authorized 
dealers must repair or correct the 
problem, accept the return of the car 

or replace the car with a car of equal 
value.

There is a limit on the number of times a 
consumer must allow the manufacturer 
or dealer to repair the car and the 
amount of time the car can be out of 
service. 

If during the covered  warranty period, 
the manufacturer or dealer fails to 
successfully repair the problem after 
4 attempts, or the car is out of service 
by reason of repair for a cumulative 
total of 30 or more calendar days, the 
manufacturer must accept the return of 
the car or replace the car with a new 
car.
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Used Car Protection
Your used car is covered by the 
Arizona Used Car Lemon Law if a major 
component of your car breaks before 
the 15 days or 500 miles after you buy the 
car.

If it breaks, you’ll still have to pay up to 
$25 for the first two repairs.

The recovery for the consumer is the 
purchase amount paid for the car.

When you purchased a new vehicle, it is 
supposed to run without problems for a 
certain amount of time.
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Red flag if dealer calls after the purchase
If you are asked to return the vehicle to 
the dealer after the purchase, something 
is wrong!

If you are receiving letters or calls from 
the finance company after the sale 
there might be something wrong.
Be careful don’t become a victim.
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Return it, when you find out there is a 
problem
If you are told your sale contract was not 
approve, you may have an opportunity 
to return the vehicle and get your down 
payment back or trade-in returned.

If the dealer you purchase from allows 
a cool down period you can return the 
vehicle in a set time frame with certain 
number of miles drive.
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How do I know if my vehicle is a Lemon?
It may be a LEMON! There are Lemon 
laws in AZ, NM and UT to protect you.

If your new vehicle constantly stops 
working, document it and have it 
declared a lemon. Do not accept the 
lemon as a trade in towards another 
vehicle.
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Arizona’s Lemon Law

Things to KNOW After you Purchase a vehicle

Are you Driving a 
LEMON?

NM and AZ have
LEMON LAWS      


